The Magic of Popcorn

Once when I was about 5 years old my mum came home with a pop corn maker (odd because she hates the smell of popcorn), when I asked her “What makes the seeds pop?” I was given the answer the fire fairies do it. I remember being so excited and curious about this magical transformation I was witnessing right in front of me. Now being freezing cold and sat around the camp fire watching Duncan make pop corn, I felt a tiny glimpse of that same curiosity. So much so that I forgot about my freezing cold, numb toes for about a second while I wondered what does make that popcorn pop. I now know of course its not the magic of the fire fairies as exciting as that would be!

So this is how its actually done…

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 22.35.46.png

Although I still think this is a much better way…

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 22.40.28.png

References:

http://chemistry.about.com/od/foodcookingchemistry/f/how-popcorn-pops.htm (Accessed: 12th March 2016)

Parsons, P. (2010). Science 1001. London: Quercus Publishing

http://wonderopolis.org/wonder/what-makes-popcorn-pop/ (Accessed: 12th March)

Leave a Reply

